Live-blog: the Future of Scholarly Scientific Communication

Para discutir dilemas da ciência

Sauropod Vertebra Picture of the Week

I’m at the Royal Society today and tomorrow as part of the Future of Scholarly Scientific Communication conference.

I’m making some notes for my own benefit, and I thought I might as well do them in the form of a blog-post, which I will continuously update, in case anyone else is interested.

I stupidly didn’t make notes on the first two speakers, but let’s pick up from the third:

Deborah Shorley, ex-librarian of Imperial College London

Started out by saying that she feels her opinion, as a librarian, is irrelevant, because librarians are becoming irrelevant. A pretty incendiary opening!

Important observations:

“Scientific communication in itself doesn’t matter; what matters is that good science be communicated well.”

And regarding the model of giving papers to publishers gratis, then paying them for the privilege of reading them:

“I can’t think of any other area where such a dopey business model pertains.”

Ver o post original 1.385 mais palavras

Deixe uma resposta

